April 16 is the big day!

After nearly two years of study under the guidance of two different rabbis in two different cities, my immersion date has been booked at the mikveh!!!  I met with Rabbi Latz at Shir Tikvah for one of our monthly meetings last week after I emailed him my personal statement and we went over the process of the big day of beit din and mikveh immersion.  Also, we discussed the hatafat dam brit (getting a drop of blood from that ‘southern area’ of my body) and how that will go.  Yesterday I got an email from Rabbi Latz’s assistant and I selected the date of April 16th (which is also one month after my wife is due to give birth to our first child!)for my beit din and mikveh immersion, and then was provided the phone number for the Orthodox doctor that will be doing the ‘prick of the prick’ on me. 

I CAN’T BELIEVE I WILL OFFICIALLY BE A MEMBER OF THE TRIBE IN 51 DAYS!  I am SOOOOO excited!

In my next post I will share the personal statement that I wrote for the Rabbi to share with the members of the beit din that will be ‘interviewing’ me on my big day. 

This entry was posted in Judaism, Mikveh, Shir Tikvah and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

